CONFESSING TO "SIN"

Tuesday, February 4, 2020

     “If we say we have no sin (ὅτι ἁμαρτίαν οὐκ ἔχομεν), we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just, and will forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” (1 Jn 1: 8-9)

 

     Is “sin” all that hard to admit, before a “faithful and just” God? No, not really. Because He can and “will,” indeed, “forgive” and “cleanse” me. It’s much harder, I’d say, to burden myself with self-justification, before myself and the rest of merely-human “others” and their opinions, neither “faithful” nor “just.”To say that I have no “sin” (ἁμαρτία in Greek, meaning, “to miss the mark”) means to be in burdensome denial, about the “truth” of myself and others. Because, time and again, I do miss “the mark,” which is God’s specific call to me, or my “vocation,” to do what I am supposed to be doing, in the here and now. If I don’t have an honest, humble vision of how I do “not” hit that “mark,” at times, of His way for me, I will also have a distorted, not-compassionate vision of the “truth” about other people around me.

 

     Today let me not fear honesty, before my merciful and just God, and take a few minutes for self-examination. Let me unburden myself from any masks I feel compelled to wear, before human opinion, and re-connect with God in honest, heartfelt prayer, as I am. Lord, let me have the joy and peace of knowing my “sin” as You know it, in Your undying love, justice and mercy. Amen! 
 

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Sunday, February 23, 2020

Saturday, February 22, 2020

Friday, February 21, 2020

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by