EMBRACING CHANGE

Sunday, January 12, 2020

     “And leaving Nazareth he went and dwelt in Capernaum by the sea, in the territory of Zebulun and Naphtali, that what was spoken by the prophet Isaiah might be fulfilled: ‘The land of Zebulun and the land of Naphtali, toward the sea, across the Jordan, Galilee of the Gentiles—the people who sat in darkness have seen a great light, and for those who sat in the region and shadow of death light has dawned.’ From that time Jesus began to preach, saying, ‘Repent (Μετανοεῖτε, Change your mind/focus), for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.’” (Mt 4: 13-17)

 

     This is the very first word spoken to us by our Lord Jesus Christ: “Repent! (Μετανοεῖτε)” He says, which means “Change your mind” or your “focus.” It is not only a call to change, but a reassurance that change is possible. I can turn things around every day, at any moment, whenever I (re)-focus on Christ’s enduring Presence in my life, and on the simple fact that His kingdom is “at hand,” within my reach. Not in a galaxy far, far away.

 

     So this morning as I approach Holy Communion, I once again embrace change, and re-focus on the “great light” that has “dawned” upon us, in the coming to us of God’s Only-Begotten Son, in the flesh. As I make healthy adjustments to my daily prayer, eating, sleeping, and exercise schedules today, I thank You, Lord, for lighting up my life with positive change. “Now have I made a beginning; this change has been wrought by the right hand of the Most High.” (Ps 76/77: 10, LXX) 
 

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, January 27, 2020

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by