PATIENCE, THE “GOOD SOIL“

Thursday, October 31, 2019

     “And as for that in the good soil, they are those who, hearing the word, hold it fast in an honest and good heart, and bring forth fruit with patience (ἐν ὑπομονῇ).” (Lk 8: 15)

 

     It is not an overnight process, the whole business of “bringing fruit” from the “seed” of God’s word planted in our hearts. It takes time. That’s why it takes “patience,” which is the power to wait. “Patience” in Greek is “ὑπομονή,” meaning, literally, a “remaining behind”; It’s a holding out in wait, to see what God sends next. I need this capacity, this power, simply to wait things out, practically on a daily basis, on the occasions when I don’t know how or whether to react. So, patience is what fills the space of time between being confronted with some “situation” (like unpleasant surprises from people, including myself, or institutions, or whatever), and responding to it appropriately, with God’s help. I take pause and ask God for wisdom.

 

     And when I receive no answer, no wisdom? In this case patience allows me to “bring forth fruit” nonetheless. Just like entire generations, throughout Church history, at times have not been able to resolve certain problems and divisions. We have in the past, and we do today, bring forth fruit nonetheless. We have to “hold fast” God’s word “in an honest and good heart,” and bring forth fruit “with patience.” May God give me patience today, in matters large and small. Amen. 
 

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Monday, January 13, 2020

Sunday, January 12, 2020

Friday, January 10, 2020

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by