REDEEMING THE TIME

Tuesday, June 25, 2019

    “See then that you walk circumspectly/carefully, not as fools but as wise, redeeming the time (ἐξαγοραζόμενοι τὸν καιρόν), because the days are evil. Therefore do not be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is. And do not be drunk with wine, in which is dissipation; but be filled with the Spirit, speaking to one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord,” (Eph 5: 15-19)

 

     On a daily basis, we are called to “redeem the time.“ What does this mean? “Redeem“ (literally, to “buy up“) in this context means 1. To evaluate/understand the significance of “the time,“ that is, of every specific situation or opportunity or challenge, in light of our God-given purpose, to become “more like“ and “more in“ Him; and 2. To offer the best of ourselves, empowered by God’s grace, in responding to the situation/opportunity/challenge at hand.

 

     Today, on this second day of the Apostles’ Fast, let me “make melody in my heart to the Lord,“ in some heartfelt prayer and contemplation of His word. Whatever my opportunities or challenges are today, whether in my work or in personal relationships, let me not face them alone, according to my merely-human “lights.“ Let me rather let God “fill“ me “with the Spirit,“ Who can and wants to “come and abide in us,“ and relieve us of our crippling fears and other distortions of “the time“ or opportunity at hand, if only we open up to His grace. “Come and abide in us, and cleanse us of all impurity, and save our souls, O Good One!“

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by