UNSCHOOLED & ORDINARY

Wednesday, May 8, 2019

     “And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.” (Jn 1: 14)

 

     St. John, who “thundered” these famous words ca. two millennia ago, was an “unschooled and ordinary” man, as we learn in today’s reading from the Book of Acts, about John and Peter before the religious elite of their time, the Sanhedrin: “…Now when they saw the boldness (παρρησίαν) of Peter and John, and perceived that they were unschooled and ordinary men (ἀγράμματοί εἰσιν, καὶ ἰδιῶται), they marveled. Then they realized that they had been with Jesus.” (Acts 4: 13) Indeed, the only way to explain the “extraordinary” testimony of these “ordinary” men, was by the fact that “they had been with Jesus.” They had “beheld His glory, …full of grace and truth,” and now His grace and truth emanated, nay, thundered, into the world around them.

 

     And so are we, however “unschooled” or “ordinary,” but as members of an “apostolic” Church, invited both to receive and pass on this extraordinary energy, “full of grace and truth.” Because “the Word became flesh,” and continues to “dwell among us,” as we open our hearts to Him, and let Him do that. By the prayers of Your holy Apostles, Savior, save us!

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by