“HOW” WE SPEAK

Monday, April 8, 2019

    “A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” (Prov 15: 1)

 

     Does this verse mean I should lie, rather than tell the truth, when the truthful “answer” might disagree with my interlocutor? No, that’s not what Holy Wisdom tells us in this passage. He is talking, rather, of “how” we speak, rather than of “what” we say. As the very-next verse of Proverbs says, “The tongue of the wise uses knowledge rightly, but the mouth of fools pours forth foolishness.” (Prov 15: 2) So if we’re to be “wise” with His Wisdom, our “tongue” is to “use knowledge rightly,” rather than “pour forth foolishness.

 

     This is very hard, as most of us will know. But with God, all things are possible! So let me be reminded today, insofar as I have any “knowledge,” the Source of which is God, to use it “rightly,” seasoning it with the “salt” of His grace, in a “soft answer,” if indeed I am called to “answer” anyone who is tempting me to “pour forth” foolishness. “Lord and Master of my life, grant me not the spirit of idleness, despondency, love of power, and idle talk!”  

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by