LETTING A SERMON SPEAK TO ME

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

     “’…Woe to you Pharisees! for you love the best seat in the synagogues and salutations in the market places. Woe to you! for you are like graves which are not seen, and men walk over them without knowing it.’ One of the lawyers answered him, ‘Teacher, in saying this you reproach us also.’ And he said, ‘Woe to you lawyers also! for you load men with burdens hard to bear, and you yourselves do not touch the burdens with one of your fingers.” (Lk 11: 43-46)

 

Good for this lawyer! He heard the actions of “others” being reproached in a sermon, but recognized that he himself was reproachable, in these same ways. And for this insight, the Lord blesses him with a clarification, as to how he and his lot (of lawyers) could do better.

 

Let me also recognize reproaches in Scripture, or in sermons, which “reproach us also.” Because that is why I am given to read or hear these words in the first place: Not so that I may dissect the shortcomings of “others” in a more precise manner, but so that I may see my own shortcomings more clearly, and do better. As we pray in the Lenten Prayer of St. Ephrem, “Yea, O Lord and King, grant me to see my own transgressions, and not to judge my brother, for blessed are You, unto ages of ages. Amen.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by