CONFRONTING CHANGE in HUMILITY

Thursday, September 20, 2018

     “And Mary said: ‘My soul magnifies the Lord, And my spirit has rejoiced in God my Savior. For he has regarded the humility of his maidservant; For behold, henceforth all generations will call me blessed. For he who is mighty has done great things for me, And holy is his name…’” (Lk 1: 46-49)

 

     As those of us on the Older Calendar prepare to celebrate the great feast of the Nativity of the Theotokos tomorrow, I am thinking about the “Song of Mary.” It’s an outpouring of gratitude from the depths of a young woman’s soul, even though her life had just become extra-“complicated.” Having received unexpected news of the most problematic kind, – specifically, of an unexpected pregnancy…, – the Holy Virgin “ducks under the wave” of humility, and praises the “great things” of God.

 

     Let me make myself extra-small “under the wave” of humility, in gratitude for God’s greatness, when I am confronted with unexpected or troublesome change. When people and situations are not going “my way,” or the way I somehow envisioned or expected, let me get extra-mindful of God’s loving, abiding Presence in my life. I mustn’t get crippled by ingratitude or fear or resentment, all of which tend to cut me off from God and others, blocking me from growing as God intends me to grow, sometimes amidst new circumstances. So let me re-embrace faith today, in gratitude and humility, particularly if I’m confronted with unexpected change. “For he who is mighty has done great things for me, And holy is his name.” Most Holy Theotokos, save us!

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by