THE DAUGHTER OF THE KING

Tuesday, August 28, 2018

 

     “Hearken, O daughter, and see, and incline your ear; and forget your own people and your father’s house. And the king shall greatly desire your beauty, for he himself is your Lord, and you shall worship him. And him shall the daughters of Tyre worship with gifts; the rich among the people shall entreat your countenance (τὸ πρόσωπόν σου λιτανεύσουσιν, лицу твоему помолятся). All the glory of the daughter of the king is within, with goldfringed garments is she arrayed, adorned in varied colors... I shall commemorate your name in every generation and generation.“ (Ps 44: 9-12, 16, Septuagint-translation)

 

     Today, as those of us on the Older Calendar celebrate the great feast of the Dormition of the Theotokos, our Church showers praise, gratitude and love upon “the daughter of the king.“ She did, indeed, “incline her ear“ to God’s call from an early age, growing up not in “her father’s house“ but in the Temple, and became “arrayed“ with a unique beauty “within.“ It wasn’t any bland or one-dimensional kind of beauty, but one “adorned in varied colors.“ Thus “in every generation“ we “entreat her countenance“ in the many and varied holy icons of the Mother of God.

 

     Thank you, most-holy Mother of God, for not abandoning us in your Dormition, and blessing us daily with your loving countenance. “You were translated to life, O Mother of Life, and by your prayers, you deliver our souls from death.“ (Troparion-hymn of Dormition)

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Monday, January 27, 2020

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by