FINDING ALONE-TIME WITH GOD

Sunday, July 29, 2018

    “Then he made the disciples get into the boat and go before him to the other side, while he dismissed the crowds. And after he had dismissed the crowds, he went up on the mountain by himself to pray. When evening came, he was there alone…” (Mt 14: 22-23)

 

 

     Did our Lord Jesus Christ “need” to go up on a mountain, and be “by himself to pray”? – As God, no, He did not have need of anything. But as far as His human nature is concerned, – yes, He did, because alone-time with God is a vital part of human being, or of being human. As Christ shows us what it means to be truly human, we see here that part of our process, of “becoming human” in Christ, involves finding alone-time with God.This summer, if I have the luxury of taking a vacation, and don’t have small children (in which case my vacation-time is not exactly a “luxury”), let me not over-fill my vacation-schedule with various activities, and carve out some time for prayer and reflection. If my busy work-schedule has led me to fall out of the habit of making time for solitary prayer, my vacation might be a good opportunity to re-think my time-management. It’s just a thought, my friends. Happy Sunday!

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Friday, December 6, 2019

Thursday, December 5, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Monday, December 2, 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019

Friday, November 29, 2019

Thursday, November 28, 2019

Wednesday, November 27, 2019

Tuesday, November 26, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by