PRAISING THE LORD ON MOTHER’S DAY

Sunday, May 13, 2018

     “Praise the name of the Lord; Praise him, you servants of the Lord. You that stand in the house of the Lord, in the courts of the house of our God, praise the Lord, for the Lord is good; chant unto his name, for that is good.” (Ps 134: 1-3, Septuagint-translation)

 

     What a relief it is, to take a break from worrying about or bemoaning what is “bad” and “wrong” with the world, and to “praise the Lord.” For that is good. And it is healthy for me, particularly in our oft-exhausting internet-culture, which always seems more eager to find fault with, and to take offense at, things and people, rather than to find the good in them.

 

     Today I take pause and thank God wholeheartedly, also for the things and people I tend to take for granted. And because it is Mother’s Day, let me praise the Lord for my mom, Matushka Catherine. Her ever-supportive and ever-self-offering presence in our family and our Church has always simply been a given, in my world, and doesn’t get a Thank-you often enough. Thank, you, mama! And thank You, Lord, for her. “Praise the Lord, for the Lord is good; chant unto his name, for that is good.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by