HUMILITY LIBERATES

Thursday, February 22, 2018

The loftiness of man shall be bowed down, and the haughtiness of men shall be brought low; the Lord alone will be exalted in that day, but the idols He shall utterly abolish.” (Is 2: 17-18)

 

This refreshing passage is part of today’s reading from the Prophet Isaiah, whose prophecies are read on Lenten weekdays at the service of the Sixth Hour. Isaiah is talking about “that day,” of the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ, in His Spirit, according to the loving will of the Father, into our lives. – And into my life, again and again, on any given day when I allow Him to do that, allowing myself to be “bowed down” in the liberating grace of humility.

 

I let “that day” be today, on this fourth day of Lent, on which we continue our cathartic, unpretentious lament before the Lord, liberated from the “loftiness” and “haughtiness” of our usual “idols.” I let the Lord “utterly abolish the idols” of my usual concerns and sinful patterns, as I am “brought low” into His humble embrace, from which I can’t fall. And as I prepare for confession at the end of this week, I mark down in my journal the specific “idols” with which I’ve been burdened, now being exposed in the light of this grace-filled week. Come, Lord, and “be exalted” on this blessed, first Thursday of Lent, and keep us by Your grace and Your humility.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by