SLOWED DOWN BY THE FLU

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Since therefore Christ suffered in the flesh for us, arm yourselves with the same thought, for whoever has suffered in the flesh has ceased from sin, so as to live for the rest of the time in the flesh no longer by human passions but by the will of God. Let the time that is past suffice for doing what the Gentiles like to do, living in licentiousness, passions, drunkenness, revels, carousing, and lawless idolatry.” (1 Pet 4: 1-3) 

 

There’s this hidden blessing of falling ill “in the flesh”; that I am slowed down against my will, and compelled at least to press “pause” on my usual sinful patterns or “passions.” I don’t, however, necessarily “arm myself with the same thought” as the one Christ had, when He suffered “for us.” His suffering was purposeful Self-offering, “for” others. In my physical ailments I might choose merely to complain and wallow in purposelessness, asking “Why me?”

 

But my body, whether ill or well, does always have a purpose, to be “for” God and others. So let me re-direct my focus on Him today, as best I can, particularly if I’ve been stopped, by physical illness, from “doing” what I usually “do.” Let me rather “be” in God, embracing the time of illness for exercising gratitude, compassion, and prayer for other people. “Thy will be done” with us this flu-season, Lord, by Your mercy and grace.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Monday, January 13, 2020

Sunday, January 12, 2020

Friday, January 10, 2020

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by