SERVING GOD in FINANCIAL MATTERS

Saturday, January 13, 2018

He who is faithful in a very little is faithful also in much; and he who is unrighteous (ἄδικος) in a very little is unrighteous also in much. If then you have not been faithful in the unrighteous mammon, who will entrust to you the true (riches)? And if you have not been faithful in that which is another’s, who will give you that which is your own? No servant can serve two masters; for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and mammon.” (Lk 16: 10-13)

 

I am called to be “faithful” and God-focused in all areas of life, including the unrighteous “mammon” (a Semitic word meaning money or riches). So, wherever or however it is that I earn money, whether sitting in a cubicle at a stuffy office, or waiting tables at a noisy diner, or teaching at a school or university, or selling something or other online, or as a taxi or Uber-driver in a big city, etc., I am called to keep God as my focus, and to serve Him also in “very little” ways.

 

So let me be “faithful” today, as best I can, also in the “very little” ways I can be at my daily job. Let me embrace humility and God-reliance, rather than self-reliance, in dealing with my employer, my co-workers, and with the stress of financial matters and insecurities. Our Father, I pray this morning, “Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors.” Amen!

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Wednesday, October 30, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by