RECEIVING LIKE A CHILD

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

And they were bringing children to him, that he might touch them; and the disciples rebuked them. But when Jesus saw it he was indignant, and said to them, ‘Let the children come to me, do not hinder them; for to such belongs the kingdom of God. Truly, I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child shall not enter it.’ And taking them in his arms (ἐναγκαλισάμενος αὐτὰ, hugging them) he blessed them, laying his hands upon them.” (Mk 10: 13-16)

 

What does it mean, to “receive” a gift “like a child”? For one thing, it means not asking whether “I” am “worthy” of the gift being offered to me; whether I’ve been “naughty” or “nice.” Small children jump to open their Christmas or birthday presents, without asking, “What?! For me?!” So am I called, as I am, to come without hesitation and “receive” communion with Christ, with all its blessings.

 

Let me come, and re-connect with Him today in honesty, as I am. Because my Lord is a Lord Who ate and drank with the sinners, and hugged their children, as they were. “Remember me, Lord, when You come into Your kingdom.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by