LOVE and SUFFERING

Friday, December 15, 2017

Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? As it is written, ‘For your sake we are being killed all the day long; we are regarded as sheep to be slaughtered.’ No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” (Rom 8: 35-37)

 

Love somehow always involves suffering, in this world. Why? Because love is a God-given gift and power, a divine force or will, which strives toward oneness (with the beloved). So it comes up against, and is invariably opposed by, “other” wills and drives in this world, which strive for division and separateness. These “other” wills seek to destroy and/or distort our God-given capacity to love; to turn it into pure and potentially-eternal “suffering” (i.e., into “passion,” like jealousy, envy, lust, despondency, or merely-human fear). 

 

But in Christ’s love, in communion with Him, this “suffering” we undergo in love is not eternal, because it was taken on by Him and overcome. Christ handed Himself over to all those death-bringing forces opposed to love in this world, and overcame them, in His resurrection. Hence His suffering was not eternal, while His love, and ours in Him, “never ends” (1 Cor 13: 8). So today let me not fear “all these things,” which now and then rise up against my God-given capacity to love, and let me hand them over to Him, our one-and-only Lord. “In all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.” Thank You, Lord, for that.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by