TRUE LIFE & THE SHOPPING SEASON

Thursday, December 7, 2017

As for those who in the present age are rich, command them not to be haughty, or to set their hopes on the uncertainty of riches, but rather on God who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. They are to do good, to be rich in good works, generous, and ready to share (κοινωνικούς), thus storing up for themselves the treasure of a good foundation for the future, so that they may take hold of the life that really is life (τῆς ὄντως ζωῆς).” (1 Tim 6: 17-19)

 

During this season of sometimes-unwise spending, I’d like to carry with me the final words quoted above, which remind me of the whole point of having money or any other God-given “riches.” It is to use those resources 1. to “store up” for ourselves “the treasure of a good foundation for the future,” and 2. to “take hold of the life that really is life.” In other words, the way I choose to spend my “riches” is an essential part of responding to my “vocation,” the specific way in which I am called to communion with God and others.

 

Let me take pause today, and take note of the “whys” of my spending-decisions and other forms of sharing myself with others, asking whether these are life-bringing, or rather death-bringing, for my vocation. Lord, give me the wisdom to choose “the life that really is life” in this Christmas season, and thank You for providing me with enough for today.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Monday, February 10, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by