THE COMMANDMENT TO REST

Saturday, October 21, 2017

Six days you shall do your work, but on the seventh day you shall rest, so that your ox and your donkey may have relief, and the son of your bondmaid and the resident alien may be refreshed.” (Ex 23: 12)

 

Setting aside the disputed issues of the Sabbath-commandment and its status in Christianity (e.g., how or whether it relates to Sunday), I’d just like to reflect on its motivation, in its above-quoted version. We are commanded to rest, not primarily for our own sake, but out of consideration for our dependents, including animals. So, if we do not heed the commandment to rest, and are “on” non-stop, as many of us are (at least to some degree) in our 24/7 Internet-culture, we are over-burdening not only ourselves, but also others.

 

So let me take a break this weekend, and take time “off” as God calls me to do. My well-rested self makes life easier and more healthy not only for me, but for those dependent on me in some way.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, December 9, 2019

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Friday, December 6, 2019

Thursday, December 5, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Monday, December 2, 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019

Friday, November 29, 2019

Thursday, November 28, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by