GOOD ADVICE vs. BAD ADVICE

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Blessed is the man that has not walked in the counsel (ἐν βουλῇ) of the ungodly…” (Ps 1: 1)

 

It’s tricky to discern what is “the counsel of the ungodly,” particularly when it is offered to us by friends. This often happens at times when we are especially vulnerable and disoriented by our own shortcomings, like a long-standing resentment against a problematic colleague, boss, or relative, or like a long-standing obsession or frustration with some person or thing. Our friends might step in, at such times, to “support” us with advice that is, actually, “ungodly.” I’ve observed that this happens not primarily because they, our friends, are “ungodly,” but because we, in certain states of delusion/disorientation, and in our presentation of the “facts” to our friends, tend to cajole them into the type of “counsel” we want to hear. 

 

I don’t know if anybody reading this will relate to it. Maybe it’s only me. But I do know this: Today I need to have honesty, that is to say, humility, when I seek out “counsel” or advice in any difficult situation I may be going through. Lord, let me be open to Your voice today, and to Your truth, however and through whichever person it is spoken to me, that I may be “blessed,” by not walking “in the counsel of the ungodly.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by