HE EATS & DRINKS WITH SINNERS

Saturday, October 7, 2017

After these things he went out and saw a tax collector named Levi, sitting at the tax office. And he said to him, ‘Follow me.’ So he left all, rose up, and followed him. Then Levi gave him a great feast in his own house. And there were a great number of tax collectors and others who sat down with them. And their scribes and the Pharisees complained against his disciples, saying, ‘Why do you eat and drink with tax collectors and sinners?’ Jesus answered and said to them, ‘Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick. I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners, to repentance.’” (Lk 5: 27-32)

 

Is our Lord using the word “righteous” sarcastically, in that last sentence? Yes. And is He being sarcastic, when He characterizes those who have “no need of a physician,” i.e., no need of Him, as those who are “well”? Yes. The scribes and Pharisees believe themselves to be “well,” but are they? They don’t partake of the “feast” we read about here, refusing food and drink, like sick people. While “sinners” eat and drink with the Lord, the scribes and Pharisees stand around complaining. 

 

As I prepare for Holy Communion this Sunday, I remind myself of this picture, of us “sinners” eating and drinking with the Lord, in happy “need” of Him. We do not join in the Lord’s “feast” because we are “righteous,” no. We join in it precisely because we are not. So let me not deprive myself of the Food and Drink our Lord offers me this Sunday, because He calls not the righteous, but the sinners to His table.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by