GOD-CENTERED vs. MERELY-HUMAN “EXPECTATIONS”

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

I look for/expect the resurrection of the dead (Προσδοκῶ ἀνάστασιν νεκρῶν, Чаю воскресения мертвых, Et expecto resurrectionem mortuorum), and the life of the age to come. Amen.” (Nicene-Constantinopolitan Creed)

 

Christianity is all about “looking for” or “expecting” good things, rather than bad ones. A God-centered life turns me away from the “bad” kinds of expectations rooted in merely-human anxiety, – that feeling of impending doom, coming at you around the corner, for example, in financial matters or in personal relationships. In a God-less, self-reliant state we tend to slip into certain fears, like that of being left destitute or being left alone, like, with six or seven cats in a lonely apartment. ☺

 

But what is it that I am invited to “look for,” or “expect” and long for, in a God-centered existence? Life. I am invited to participate in, and grow into, already here, in Holy Baptism, in Christ’s and our “resurrection” from the dead, and also “the life of the age to come.” I both “look for,” and find, this life, more and more, in a daily life in Christ, on the light-filled, cross-carrying journey. As our Lord Jesus Christ says, “I came that they may have life, and have it abundantly.“ (Jn 10: 10) So let me direct my focus to life, that I may have it “abundantly“ in Christ, and turn away from merely-human, death-bringing anxieties outside of Him. Today, O Lord, I look, once again, “for the resurrection of the dead, and the life of the age to come,“ already in the here and now, in and with You. Amen!

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by