THERE WILL YOUR HEART BE ALSO

Friday, June 30, 2017

Sell your possessions, and give alms. Provide yourselves with (ποιήσατε ἑαυτοῖς) purses that do not grow old, with a treasure in the heavens that does not fail, where no thief approaches and no moth destroys. For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.” (Lk 12: 33-34)

 

Another kind of purse, that does “grow old,” is a self-seeking and self-centered one. When my heart is in the wrong “place,” I go about my day in neediness, trying to fill my “purse” with expectations of others and asking unhealthy questions, like: Why did he or she not do this for me, or listen to me, or say hello, or reply to my text immediately, etc.? This “place” can be very disappointing, even dangerous, for my heart.

 

But here’s a healthy question: What can I do today, to “provide myself with,” or work on, the kind of purse that does not grow old? I can give myself away, from the heart. That is to say, I can give of my “possessions.” I may not have the financial means to benefit others with money, but my “possessions” include my free time, any useful talents, character traits, a kind word, a willingness to listen, or even just a smile. God knows there is always someone, even in my immediate vicinity, who could use at least a friendly ear. God, renew Your right Spirit in me today, so my heart stays in a safe place, in You.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Monday, February 10, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by