THE LAND OF SODOM & GOMORRAH

Tuesday, June 20, 2017

“…And if any one will not receive you or listen to your words, shake off the dust from your feet as you leave that house or town. Truly, I say to you, it shall be more tolerable (ἀνεκτότερον) on the day of judgment for the land of Sodom and Gomorrah than for that town.” (Mt 10: 14-15)

 

Today many of us think of “the land of Sodom and Gomorrah” as the very-worst of immoral, sinful places. But, according to the words of our Lord Jesus Christ, that “place” is “more tolerable” to God’s vision or judgment, than our unwillingness to “receive” or “listen to” His words. And let me add, if I might, the plain fact that most of us, including me, often dismiss or ignore God’s word in our lives, on a daily basis.

 

That’s all I’ve got to say today about this passage, which happens to be our Church’s reading for today. So let me let that sink in, and let me become awake to “receiving” and “listening” to His words, which I always have available to me, in our Tradition. But I’m not always all that receptive, nor am I always truly listening, even while I feel all safe and distant from “the land of Sodom and Gomorrah.” Lord, help me to receive, and to listen today, to Your word, rather than somehow consider myself “more tolerable” than those in some other “land”, like “Sodom and Gomorrah.” You are the one Judge of all our “lands,” so let me take care of mine. Glory be to You.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by