THE PROMISE OF THE SPIRIT

Saturday, May 27, 2017

Whatever you ask in my name, I will do it, that the Father may be glorified in the Son; if you ask anything in my name, I will do it. If you love me, you will keep my commandments. And I will pray the Father, and he will give you another Comforter (ἄλλον Παράκλητον), to be with you for ever, even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him; you know him, for he dwells with you, and will be in you. I will not leave you desolate (ὀρφανούς, as orphans); I will come to you.” (Jn 14: 13-18)

 

The feast of the Ascension had a subtle note of sadness, because of Christ’s departure from us in the flesh. But He had assured us, as quoted above, that He wasn’t leaving us “as orphans,” because we were to receive “another Comforter,” the Holy Spirit. He “parents” us, as it were, because of Christ’s undying care for our world and according to the great mercy of the Father.

 

It’s tough, and quite over my head, to process this mind-blowing bit of Trinitarian theology. But the part I do “get,” and will carry with me today, is this: We are not left, or abandoned, “as orphans.” The loving, parental presence of the Holy Spirit is something we “know,” because He “dwells with” us, even if we can’t explain exactly how and when He works. Come and abide in us today, Lord, and thank you for not leaving us as orphans.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, January 28, 2020

Monday, January 27, 2020

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by