A LITTLE IS ENOUGH

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Lifting up his eyes, then, and seeing that a multitude was coming to him, Jesus said to Philip, ‘How are we to buy bread, so that these people may eat?’ This he said to test him, for he himself knew what he would do. Philip answered him, ‘Two hundred denarii would not buy enough bread for each of them to get a little.’ One of his disciples, Andrew, Simon Peter’s brother, said to him, ‘There is a lad here who has five barley loaves and two fish; but what are they among so many?’ Jesus said, ‘Make the people sit down.’ Now there was much grass in the place; so the men sat down, in number about five thousand. Jesus then took the loaves, and when he had given thanks, he distributed them to those who were seated; so also the fish, as much as they wanted.” (Jn 6: 5-11)

 

What the God-Man does here with food (bread and fish), having “given thanks,” He does for all my physical needs and wants: His grace-filled presence in my life makes just a little “enough,” through the gift of grace called gratitude. Without God and gratitude in my heart, on the other hand, when my self-will runs riot, even too much is never enough.

 

Today I re-connect with Him, “giving thanks” for the little I have. I take a look around and note that I have “enough,” in terms of financial security, clothing, food, physical health, living space, and the small kindnesses of other people, even when the latter is just a kind word or smile from a random stranger in the supermarket. “Give us this day our daily bread,” O Lord, and give me the eyes to see that it is not only “enough,” but “as much as I wanted.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by