A GOOD LISTENER

Thursday, April 27, 2017

I can do nothing on my own (ἀπ᾽ἐμαυτοῦ); as I hear (καθὼς ἀκούω), I judge; and my judgment is just (δικαία), because I seek not my own will but the will of the Father who sent me.” (Jn 5: 30)

 

“I hear,” (ἀκούω) says the Lord. He doesn’t only hear, however. He listens, like nobody else. In His profound, divine capacity truly to listen, He is perfectly “obedient” (ὑπήκοος, from the verb “ὑπ-ακούω,” meaning “to listen, give ear”) even unto death on the cross (Phil 2: 8). And this is what makes Christ’s judgment just.

 

As the God-Man reveals these awe-inspiring dynamics of divine “judgment” (κρίσις, literally, “crisis”), He is also teaching me something vital about our human “judgment,” discernment, and decision-making process: Specifically, that I should go about it not “on my own,” just in my own head, but in openness to “hearing” what God has to say about it, often through other people. “As I hear, I judge.” Because “I can do nothing on my own.” Lord, help me listen a bit more today, that my judgments may be just, in You.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by