HE ROSE AND CAME HOME

Saturday, March 18, 2017

And as he passed on, he saw Levi the son of Alphaeus sitting at the tax office, and he said to him, ‘Follow me.’ And he rose and followed him. And as he sat at table in his house, many tax collectors and sinners were sitting with Jesus and his disciples; for there were many who followed him. And the scribes and the Pharisees, when they saw that he was eating with sinners and tax collectors, said to his disciples, ‘Why does he eat with tax collectors and sinners?’ And when Jesus heard it, he said to them, ‘Those who are well (οἱ ἰσχύοντες) have no need of a physician, but those who are sick (οἱ κακῶς ἔχοντες); I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance (εἰς μετάνοιαν).” (Mk 2: 14-17)

 

So Levi, one of the “sinners” in this picture, was called to “repentance” (“metanoia,” a change of mind, change of focus). What did “repentance” look like, in his case? First, Levi “rose” from where he was sitting. Then he “followed” Christ, Who led him back into his own home. And there Levi “ate” with his fellow-tax-collectors and sinners, together with the Lord.

 

Lord, I am, once again, “in need of a physician” today, where I am sitting, outside my true “home.” So once again I hear Your call: I “rise” and let You lead me back where I belong, “at table” and in fellowship with You and my fellow-sinners.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by