ON PEOPLE-PLEASING

Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Now who will harm you if you are eager to do what is good? But even if you do suffer for doing what is right, you are blessed. Do not fear their fear (τὸν δὲ φόβον αὐτῶν μὴ φοβηθῆτε), and do not be intimidated, but in your hearts sanctify Christ as Lord. Always be ready to make your defense to anyone who demands from you an accounting for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and reverence. Keep your conscience clear…” (1 Pet 3: 13-16)

 

Now why would I “fear” or “be intimidated,” if I’m doing “what is right”? Because of people-pleasing. I easily get all entangled in the fears and expectations of other people, if in my heart I lose sight of my One, primary authority; if I cease actively to “sanctify Christ as Lord” in my heart.

 

Let me stay focused today, and remember Who’s Boss as I go about my schedule. When I begin to be tossed to and fro by people-pleasing, getting distracted from what I’m called to do according to my vocation today, let me call upon “Christ as Lord” that I may manage things in His Spirit; that I may say “no” when and how I need to, “with gentleness and reverence.” God, grant me Your wisdom today, that I not “fear their fear.” Amen!

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Monday, January 13, 2020

Sunday, January 12, 2020

Friday, January 10, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by