HALLOWED BE THY NAME

Sunday, January 15, 2017

Our Father who art in heaven, hallowed be (ἁγιασθήτω, sanctified) thy name…” (Mt 6: 9)

 

Is “hallowed be thy name” a request? No. It is a proclamation. We are saying, Let Your name (i.e. You Yourself), God, be recognized and embraced, by us, as “holy.” We are not asking for God’s “name” or God to be made holy, because He already is that.

God is in fact the very Source of “holiness,” and we need to recognize and affirm that, again and again, in order to participate in His holiness, rather than seek betterment or divinization (“theosis”) from within ourselves. We do not become “like God” by doing things our own way, without Him, as the serpent suggested to us in the garden (Gen 3: 5). We recognize that it is only He, and His way, that can make us as we are meant to be, “like Him,” and that is “holy.” That’s why He says to us, “Be holy, as I am holy” (Lev 11: 44).

 

So today I reject the popular teachings on “finding the god within me.” I ascribe glory and “holiness” to Another, asking Him to “come and abide” in me. Because He does not do that against my will.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Friday, February 21, 2020

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by