WE DO NOT LOSE HEART

Saturday, October 22, 2016

…So we do not lose heart. Though our outer nature is wasting away, our inner nature is being renewed every day. For this slight momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, because we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen; for the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.” (2 Cor 4: 16-18)

How helpful and comforting is this passage, not only in our ageing process, but in dealing with the death of loved ones. “We look not to the things that are seen,” as we tended to do, when they were still with us, “but to the things that are unseen.” Because our relationship with those departed continues, but it changes. 

This changed, new relationship is “unseen,” and, in many ways, unburdened of transient confusion. There is no more occasion for discussion or conflict with them, but new opportunity for service, from our side, in offering prayers and works of love in their memory. “So we do not lose heart.” The whole experience of loss “is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison,” as we look “to the things that are unseen.” That’s one of the best parts, I think, of having faith; It is the knowledge that there is more to life than “things that are seen.” Glory to God for all things, visible and invisible. Amen!
 
Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, November 21, 2019

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by