I SHALL NOT WANT

Thursday, October 20, 2016

The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want; In a place of green pasture, there he has made me to dwell; beside still water he has nurtured me. He has converted my soul. He has led me on the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. Even though I should walk in the midst of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they have comforted me…” (Ps 22: 1-4, Septuagint-translation)

The “place of green pasture” is a place of God-reliance, as distinct from self-reliance. It is a mindset and, if you will, a heart-set, inside of me. But it doesn’t remove from me, or remove me from, “the midst of” potentially-scary situations, responsibilities, insecurities, illnesses, or calamities. What God does, as my cross-carrying Shepherd, is walk with me, as I walk through these things, “in the midst of the shadow of death,” fearing no evil. His “staff,” and occasionally His “rod,” nudge me and steer me in the right direction, onwards. 

Let me let Him do that today, whatever the day may bring, staying close to His nurturing “still water,” so I don’t “want” or thirst needlessly. Let me embrace the “comfort” that only the Comforter can bring today, handing over to Him any discomfort or self-centered fear. Glory be to Him. 
 

Tags:

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by