TO GAIN THE WHOLE WORLD

Wednesday, October 12, 2016

…For what does it profit a man, to gain the whole world and forfeit his life (τὴν ψυχὴν αὐτοῦ, his soul)? For what can a man give in return for his life (his soul)? For whoever is ashamed of me and of my words in this adulterous and sinful generation, of him will the Son of man also be ashamed, when he comes in the glory of his Father with the holyangels.” (Mk 8: 36-38)

God slows me down, when it comes to my instinctive human ambition “to gain the whole world.” Because when I take care of my “soul,” making time every day for some prayer, contemplation, and self-examination, I don’t have quite enough time to keep up with all the demands and competition “in this adulterous and sinful generation.” And that’s OK. In God and with God I’m not “ashamed” of falling behind in the whole business of conquering the world. He gives me peace and contentment with things as they are. Glory be to Him.

Tags:

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Monday, February 10, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by