SEEING THINGS AS THEY ARE

Saturday, October 8, 2016

Glory to You, Who has shown us the light!” (Byzantine Matins, Great Doxology)
 
Indeed, God shows me “the light,” specifically His light, to see things as they are, rather than how I might imagine them to be, when left to my own “lights.” On my own, without a God-centered focus, I tend to slip into a distorted vision of things; I begin to see “more” or “less” than there is, in the various realities of my life. For example, I might “see” my financial situation as “less” than it is, when I’m not embracing gratitude. Conversely, I might see “more” than I actually have, and spend unwisely. I can also distort my relationships with people, including myself, burdening them with unrealistic expectations or even demands.
 
Today let me let God show me His light, setting aside both fear and denial. Because His is a gentle light, which liberates me from confusing and ultimately-hurtful distortions. Let me open up to His grace, re-connecting with Him in some heartfelt prayer and re-focusing (metanoia), which brings me humble acceptance of, and gratitude for, things as they are. “Glory to You, Who has shown us the light!”
Please reload

Recent Posts:

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Monday, January 13, 2020

Sunday, January 12, 2020

Friday, January 10, 2020

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by