TO SHARE OR NOT TO SHARE

Saturday, January 30, 2016

 

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.” (Proverbs 18: 21)

 

Ouch! Yes, my words can spread “life,” or my words can spread “death.” Not only by way “of the tongue,” as it was when Proverbs were written. Today my sharing of words happens increasingly online, in what I choose to “forward” or “share” via text-message, tweet, email, or otherwise. I’m thinking about this today, because yesterday I received a nasty email, and then forwarded it to a close friend, saying something to the effect of, Look, she’s at it again, this one. I shouldn’t have done that. I could have “stopped the madness,” so to say, by just keeping it to myself. Simple abstinence in forwarding, and wise use of “DELETE” would have been a beneficial exercise in compassion and withholding of judgment.

 

So today let me be a bit more abstinent with “the power of the tongue,” which nowadays is magnified through the abundance of words I can choose to share, or not to share, online. If I happen to come across damaging or death-bringing information, let it stop with me, rather than be spread by me, so that others are not subjected to “eating its fruits.” And let me be grateful today for lessons learned yesterday, in light of God’s always life-giving Word.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by