PROCRASTINATION & ANXIETY

Thursday, September 29, 2016

...Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors...“ (Mt 6: 11-12)

 

How very helpful is our Lord’s prayer, when I happen to have an important work-deadline, am procrastinating about it for some reason, and feeling anxious because of the crippling procrastination. That was, in fact, my situation just recently. But I kept repeating these particular verses of our Lord’s prayer, which, somehow to my surprise (O ye of little faith!), remove what is blocking me from doing what I need to do for my “daily bread,“ and help me walk through my responsibilities.

 

So, why these verses, if I’m dealing with procrastination? Because, first of all, these verses help me get out of self-reliance, specifically in the area of earning “daily bread,“ and out of the anxiety that comes from that self-reliance, or carrying the weight of my financial responsibilities on my own shoulders. God can, and will, provide for me, giving me the strength and courage to do what I need to do. And, second of all, when I ask for any and all “debts“ to be forgiven, as I forgive the debts of myself and others, I receive the liberating grace of all-around forgiveness, including self-forgiveness. It frees me from crippling self-doubt, which often plays its ugly part in the whole business of procrastination. So this morning as I hand in the project due today, I thank God for teaching us to ask for His help, which does for me what I can’t do for myself.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by