DOES GOD “LEAD US" INTO TEMPTATION?

Friday, September 16, 2016

 

“…and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from the evil one. For yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory, forever. Amen.” (Mt 6: 13)

 

I know, I’ve reflected on these verses several times already. But I need to write about them again. Because yesterday I was at the Danube River here in Vienna, and I witnessed something quite ordinary, which suddenly explained the whole concept of “lead us not into temptation” better than all my explanations, heretofore attempted in these daily reflections: It was a man leading his small child to the river, holding both the small hands of the toddler. As the toddler pushed forward, baby-step by baby-step, I thought, Who is leading whom?

 

So now I realize, when I ask God, “Lead us not into temptation…,” I’m saying (with the rest of us): Yes, I am learning to walk, baby-step by baby-step, but I ask You, God, to hold my hands and lead me – not into temptation. So that I don’t fall into the river. Because I don’t really know what I’m doing. Only You know this whole terrain, this “terra incognita” of my life, in Your omniscience. “For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory, forever. Amen!”

 

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by