WHEN ROUTINE IS DISRUPTED

Saturday, July 30, 2016

Bless the Lord, O my soul; and all that is within me, bless his holy name! Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits, who forgives all your iniquity, who heals all your diseases…Bless the Lord, all his works, in all places of his dominion. Bless the Lord, O my soul!” (Ps 102/103: 1-3, 22)

 

This morning I woke up a bit jetlagged and groggy, as I’ve been traveling for almost a week now. This kind of disruption of my usual routine can make me… well, unpleasant, for myself and other people. But reading the words of this well-known psalm on this unusual morning under unusual circumstances, - a psalm that I hear often (because it’s sung at the beginning of Divine Liturgy in my church), - I feel like I’m hearing it for the first time.

 

When travels, new places, or new people cease to make sense to me, because I lose a God-centered focus, let me let His word re-anchor me, because “His holy name” makes everything, including the disruptions to routine, “make sense.” – Not in our “sense,” confused by human agendas and politics and short-sighted objectives, - but in His “sense,” which lovingly, generously abounds in our midst, in every place, if I take pause and listen. Bless the Lord, O my soul, …in all places of His, not our, dominion.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Monday, December 9, 2019

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Friday, December 6, 2019

Thursday, December 5, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Monday, December 2, 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019

Friday, November 29, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by