A FOREIGN VOICE

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

“‘Truly, truly, I say to you, he who does not enter the sheepfold by the door but climbs in by another way, that man is a thief and a robber; but he who enters by the door is the shepherd of the sheep. To him the gatekeeper opens; the sheep hear his voice, and he calls his own sheep by name and leads them out. When he has brought out all his own, he goes before them, and the sheep follow him, for they know his voice. A stranger they will not follow, but they will flee from him, for they do not know the voice of strangers.’” (Jn 10: 1-5)

 

What does it mean, to “climb in another way,” like a thief? It means, having an agenda other than our Lord’s. If I capture the attention of the “sheepfold” through inflammatory politics, or trendy hot-button issues, rather than share with people the Good News handed down to us, of the Person of Jesus Christ, - the One, salvific Door of the sheep, - if I replace His word with another, then my voice is ineffective and strange.

 

Today let me neither speak “the voice of strangers,” nor be disturbed by such voices, if I happen to cross paths with them. I listen closely today for the One “shepherd of the sheep,” Who “leads us out” as He leads the way, rather than entrapping us within the dead-ends of merely-human agendas.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by