IMPOSING MY OWN TIME

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

After this Jesus went about in Galilee. He did not wish to go about in Judea because the Jews were looking for an opportunity to kill him. Now the Jewish festival of Booths was near. So his brothers said to him, ‘Leave here and go to Judea so that your disciples also may see the works you are doing; for no one who wants to be widely known acts in secret. If you do these things, show yourself to the world.’ (For not even his brothers believed in him.) Jesus said to them, ‘My time has not yet come, but your time is always here…’” (Jn 7: 1-6)

 

Here is yet another example of Jesus being pressured to do things our way, and at our pace. His brothers are annoyed with His apparent slowness to “show Himself to the world,” which seems a good idea to them at this time. Their vision is limited and impatient, because it is merely-human, lacking faith in God’s vision for their Brother. “(For not even His brothers believed in Him.)

 

Today, if I feel impatience and annoyance with another person’s journey, let me take pause and remember “God’s time,” even if I don’t understand it. My own time “is always here,” and it tends to want what it wants now, for myself and others. But God may have other plans and another pace. I ask Him today for the grace of His humility and patience, that I don’t impose my limited, potentially-harmful vision on my brother.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by