LOOKED UPON IN HUMILITY

Saturday, July 16, 2016

And Mary said, ‘My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Saviour, for he has looked upon the humility (τὴν ταπείνωσιν) of his handmaiden. For behold, henceforth all generations will call me blessed;’” (Lk 1: 46-48)

 

It is in deep humility that the Blessed Among Women is filled with joy and gratitude, – also for the praise she is to receive “henceforth” from “all generations.” The grace of humility allows her to have a healthy response also to human praise. She can “look upon” her life as God has “looked upon” (ἐπέβλεψεν) her, in joyous acceptance.

 

So today the Mother of God reminds me of true humility, the gift of the Holy Spirit that opens my eyes to see myself and others in His gentle, accepting light. Today let me let Him open my eyes to things as they are. Let me stay close to Him in prayer and mindfulness, taking down a notch my own responses to things, like fear, denial, wishful thinking or meddling. I ask God to help me “look upon” myself and all things as He does, in humility. “By the prayers of the Theotokos, Saviour, save us.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Monday, January 13, 2020

Sunday, January 12, 2020

Friday, January 10, 2020

Thursday, January 9, 2020

Tuesday, January 7, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by