A HOLY NATION

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s own people, that you may declare the wonderful deeds of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. Once you were no people but now you are God’s people; once you had not received mercy but now you have received mercy.” (1 Pet 2: 9-10)

 

Once we were “no people” at all, St. Peter says to us rather outrageously. Why not? Because we were God-less, and left to our own devices, we were fragmented, both within ourselves and amongst ourselves. Of course we can build “nations” and imagine any one of them to be “a chosen race,” but our own “nation-building” efforts, when based on ourselves and our self-proclaimed “chosenness” and not God’s, tend to breed division and divisiveness. It is only God, the One Creator, Who can and does unify creation, calling us “out of darkness into His marvelous light.”

 

Let me align myself today with His kind of nation, “a holy nation” that has “received mercy” and extends it into this world. “From now on, let no man trouble me” with other alliances (Gal 6: 17), that I may declare “the wonderful deeds of Him,” rather than the divisive and confusing deeds of men.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by