YOU HAVE FORGOTTEN

Sunday, June 26, 2016

Consider him (Christ) who endured such hostility against himself from sinners, so that you may not grow weary or lose heart. In your struggle against sin you have not yet resisted to the point of shedding your blood. And you have forgotten the exhortation that addresses you as children—‘My child, do not regard lightly the discipline (παιδείας) of the Lord, or lose heart when you are reproached (ἐλεγχόμενος) by him; for the Lord disciplines those whom he loves, and chastises every child whom he accepts.’ Have patience for the sake of discipline (εἰς παιδείαν).” (Hebr 12: 3-7)

 

He’s right. I have, indeed, forgotten. But it’s a basic, cross-carrying principle: Our Lord’s “discipline” is a loving one. In Him, I am being led to growth. I am not left to grow, just any which way, like a weed, but like the precious “child whom he accepts.”

 

So let me grow today, rather than grow weary, “looking to Jesus the pioneer and perfecter of our faith.” (Hebr 12: 2) Let me also look to the “great cloud of witnesses,” of His saints, who were yesterday, and are today, loved, chastised, and reproached in Him. Let me let my ups and my downs have the meaning He intends, leading me to grow. Glory be to Him.

 

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Friday, January 24, 2020

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Sunday, January 19, 2020

Friday, January 17, 2020

Thursday, January 16, 2020

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by