A DISPUTE AMONG THEM

Friday, June 24, 2016

And he took bread, and when he had given thanks he broke it and gave it to them, saying, ‘This is my body which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.’ And likewise the cup after supper, saying, ‘This cup which is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood. But behold the hand of him who betrays me is with me on the table…’ …A dispute also arose among them, which of them was to be regarded as the greatest...” (Lk 22: 19-21, 24)

 

Isn’t this “dispute” a scandal? It arises among the apostles at the most, one could say, inappropriate moment, right after they have partaken of the Bread and Wine at the Lord’s Supper. They are still at table, for crying out loud. But in fact I am not “scandalized,” because I am familiar with the story; it is part of our common history – not perfect, and yet salvific, through and in the Self-giving of our Lord.

 

Today, as the “story” repeats itself, and we fail to let go of our disputes even at the most inappropriate moment, on occasion of the Holy and Great Council, let me not be “scandalized.” There is still One and the Same among us, Who continues in His Self-giving, taking upon Himself our sins and divisions. He takes and breaks Bread, giving Himself to us, even in our brokenness. So let me stay close to His unifying, salvific “remembrance” today, rather than focus on our “scandal.” Because “Jesus Christ is the same, yesterday and today and forever.” (Hebr 13: 8) Amen!

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Thursday, October 31, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by