SCATTERED IN THE HOLY SPIRIT

Monday, June 20, 2016

When the most High came down and confused the tongues, / He divided the nations; / But when He distributed the tongues of fire / He called all to unity. / Therefore, with one voice, we glorify the All-holy Spirit!” (Byzantine Kontakion-hymn of Pentecost)

 

This Kontakion-hymn refers to the division of nations in Genesis 11: 1-9, when the Lord confused the languages of the people, who had attempted to build a city and the so-called “tower of Babel,” the top of which was to “touch the heavens.” It was the people’s goal thus to ensure, as they said, “a name for ourselves, lest we be scattered abroad over the face of the whole earth.” (Gen 11: 3) But the Lord denied them such a unity, and “scattered them abroad from there over the face of all the earth.” Why? Because the people had intended a unity based on themselves. They were not ready for the unity God intended; a unity rooted in Him.

 

The coming of Christ and His sending down of the Holy Spirit does not change our division into nations. He rather takes this reality and overcomes it, as only He can, using it to our benefit. He sends us out, scattered as we are, among the nations, saying, “Go and teach…,” calling all to unity in Him and through Him. Today let His All-Holy Spirit overcome in me all self-isolation, that I may open up to His call, reaching out to others and letting them reach me, in His humbling grace. “Therefore, with one voice, we glorify the All-Holy Spirit!

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Friday, February 21, 2020

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by