O HEAVENLY KING

Sunday, June 19, 2016

O Heavenly King, the Comforter, the Spirit of Truth, Who art everywhere and fillest all things; Treasury of Blessings, and Giver of Life - come and abide in us, and cleanse us from every impurity, and save our souls, O Good One.” (Prayer to the Holy Spirit)

 

Today, on the great feast of Pentecost, we sing this ancient prayer for the first time, having “abstained” from it throughout our journey of the fifty days from Pascha to the Descent of the Holy Spirit on the Apostles. Through this liturgical “abstinence” we have grown to miss, and to long for, addressing the Holy Spirit in this most direct and intimate way.

 

So, one journey is completed today, as another begins, in the ever-new, ever-renewing adventure of the Spirit-filled life of the Church. Let me gratefully recognize the King, the Comforter, and the One Spirit of Truth today, letting go, once again, of other kings, other sources of comfort, and other spirits and half-truths. Let me let Him give me what He abundantly has on offer, for all of us, when we don’t block Him out through man-made surrogates of His grace. “Come and abide in us, and cleanse us from every impurity, and save our souls, O Good One.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Tuesday, November 5, 2019

Monday, November 4, 2019

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by