CALLED TO BE SAINTS TOGETHER

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Paul, called (κλητὸς) by the will of God to be an apostle of Christ Jesus, and our brother Sosthenes, to the church (ἐκκλησία) of God which is at Corinth, to those sanctified in Christ Jesus, called to be saints (κλητοῖς ἁγίοις) together with all those who in every place call on the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, both their Lord and ours: Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.” (1 Cor 1: 1-3)

 

St. Paul himself is “called,” as are the people to whom he writes – not only at Corinth in the first century, - but “in every place” and throughout the ages, and today, wherever we are, who “call on the name of our Lord Jesus Christ.” As “church” or “ekklesia” we are “the ones called forth” (the Greek word “ekklesia” comes from “ekkaleo,” to call forth or call out), to be “saints” and “sanctified,” which means dedicated to Him. It is in fellowship with others, both from the past and in our now, that we make our journey, through its ups and downs, of responding to our common call, to be and remain dedicated to Him.

 

Today let me renew my sense of belonging to this great community of the “called.” Let me not lose sight of our primary purpose, to be “saints” together with all believers from the past and present, calling on the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, “both their Lord and ours.” So I call to Him throughout my day, “Lord, Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, the sinner.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, November 19, 2019

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by