MOTHERHOOD

Sunday, May 8, 2016

On the third day there was a wedding at Cana in Galilee, and the mother of Jesus was there. Jesus also was invited to the wedding with his disciples. When the wine ran out, the mother of Jesus said to him, ‘They have no wine.’ And Jesus said to her, ‘Woman, what does this have to do with me? My hour has not yet come.’ His mother said to the servants, ‘Do whatever he tells you.’ Now there were six stone water jars there for the Jewish rites of purification, each holding twenty or thirty gallons. Jesus said to the servants, ‘Fill the jars with water’…” (Jn 2: 1-7)

 

Here our Lord says one thing, but does another. Because His Mother does what motherly love does so effectively: She ignores His words, letting them slide, and has full faith that He’ll do the right thing. Thus in this very first of Christ’s “signs” or miracles, done at Cana (Jn 2:11), He manifested not only His glory, but the glory of His Mother and Her unique and strange authority: the authority of a mom.

 

Today I note with gratitude the kind of love that doesn’t pick at my every word, nor hold me to it. I thank God for my own, one-and-only mom, who loves me and has faith in me no matter what. I also thank Him for our glorious, Most-Holy Lady, the Theotokos and Ever-Virgin Mary, who shows us the grace of a love beyond words.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Monday, November 18, 2019

Saturday, November 16, 2019

Friday, November 15, 2019

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Tuesday, November 12, 2019

Monday, November 11, 2019

Sunday, November 10, 2019

Friday, November 8, 2019

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by