HIS WAY OF SEEING

Monday, April 11, 2016

 

Yea, O Lord and King, grant me to see my own transgressions, and not to judge (κατακρίνειν, condemn) my brother, for blessed are You, unto ages of ages. Amen.” (Lenten Prayer of St. Ephrem, Part Three)

 

Here I am asking for God’s kind of vision. He is able “to see” and yet “not to condemn” (κατακρίνειν, to judge uncharitably). I, on the other hand, can not see in His way, without His help, because we “do not see,” without the light of the Lord. Our kind of vision is darkness in light of Him, Who is the Source of all justice, as Christ reminds the Pharisees: "For judgment I came into this world, that those who do not see may see, and that those who see may become blind." (Jn 9: 39) And as the wisdom of St. Ephrem’s prayer reminds me, His kind of vision opens up to me through seeing “my own transgressions,” in the light of my only Lord and King.

 

As many of us enter the fifth week of Lent, I ask Him once again to grant me to see myself and others as He sees, without condemnation. Let me recognize judgment and justice where it truly resides, in Him. For He is “blessed,” and imparts blessing on all of us, in communion with Him, “unto ages of ages. Amen.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Saturday, February 15, 2020

Friday, February 14, 2020

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Wednesday, February 12, 2020

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by