HIS SPIRIT OF WISDOM

Thursday, March 31, 2016

 

A shoot shall come out from the stump of Jesse, and a branch shall grow out of his roots. The spirit of the Lord shall rest on him, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and the fear of the Lord. His delight shall be in the fear of the Lord. He shall not judge by what his eyes see, or decide by what his ears hear; but with righteousness he shall judge the poor, and decide with equity for the meek of the earth…” (Is 11: 1-4)

 

This prophecy about the Messiah is read today in my church, on Thursday of the third week of Lent. So we continue to look “forward” to the coming of this righteous Judge, Who “shall not judge” as we do, “by what his eyes see, or decide by what His ears hear.” In our voluntary, Lenten exile to the times of the Old Testament, we look “forward” to the coming of a new kind of kingdom, with a King Who brings us His Spirit “of wisdom and understanding.”

 

In any judgments or decisions I make today, let me rely not merely on what my eyes see, nor on what my ears hear. Let me rather ask for His Spirit, “of knowledge and fear of the Lord.” In the Body of Christ I am not alone, with my own wisdom, judgment, or understanding. So let me ask Christ for His judgment “with righteousness,” of whatever is going on today among us, “the poor and the meek of the earth.”

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

Monday, February 24, 2020

Sunday, February 23, 2020

Saturday, February 22, 2020

Friday, February 21, 2020

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Wednesday, February 19, 2020

Tuesday, February 18, 2020

Monday, February 17, 2020

Sunday, February 16, 2020

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by