LENT, A NEW BEGINNING

Monday, March 14, 2016

 

In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. The earth was without form, and void; and darkness was on the face of the deep. And the Spirit of God was hovering over the face of the waters. Then God said, ‘Let there be light’; and there was light. And God saw the light, that it was good; and God divided the light from the darkness. God called the light Day, and the darkness He called Night. So the evening and the morning were the first day.” (Gen 1: 1-5)

 

This is read in my church today, on the very first day of Lent. We are taken way back, to the “beginning,” to the great mystery of Creation; The answer to the great question, Why is there something rather than nothing? Because God loved it into being. He doesn’t “need” anything or anyone, because God is perfect Being. But He brings us and all of this, our world, into being anyway, because He wants us to “be.” He wants to share His Being. And now that we “are,” however imperfectly, He continues to call us to “be” more fully, more perfectly, in Him. His creative energies continue to work on me, when I let Him in.

 

Today let me re-discover His creative call to me, to “be.” Let me let Him share His Being with me, as I begin Lent, and begin to care for my spiritual “garden” and for my body in the new, creative ways Lent opens up for me.

Please reload

Recent Posts:

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Monday, December 9, 2019

Sunday, December 8, 2019

Friday, December 6, 2019

Thursday, December 5, 2019

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Monday, December 2, 2019

Sunday, December 1, 2019

Friday, November 29, 2019

Please reload

Archive:
Please reload

© Coffee with Sister Vassa Inc.

  • Odnoklassniki Social Icon
  • YouTube Reflection
  • Facebook Reflection
  • Vkontakte App Icon
  • Twitter Reflection
  • Google+ Reflection

Website designed by